Guitar Amplifiers and Speakers


I have 3 amps right now, Laney IRT Studio a cracking 15watt amp great for recording and using at 1 watt in the condo, Laney A1 acoustic amp truly beautiful tones for my piezo on my Waghorn, but also for my Yamaha acoustic guitar and last an Ampeg BA108 bass amp.

The Laney IRT112 has a H1280 H/H speaker. They are reknowned for PA speakers and have not really been in guitar amps for a long time. The speaker is not expensive and ok, the Laney cab is very robust.

To get a better tone I am looking to replace the speaker. In testing I like the Jensen C12K the most, which is in the Fender 65 deluxe reverb reissue and the Fender GB Hot Rod. Its very warm and has a good range. Celestion have the G12H in various forms, I found this an excellent speaker, but at lower volumes it is ok, but not until you up the volume does it become interesting. I have only tried some of the Eminence speakers in Fender amps such as the blues junior. I have now fitted the Jensen C12K and it is better than I expected.

Amplifier wise the only amp combo I like is the Fender GB Hot Road because its warmth and cleanness. I also like the Fender 65 Reverb deluxe which has a similiar tech, but the pine built GB just gives more warmth. This means getting a larger bass tone at quite low volumes is more doable.

I have also replaced the clean channel 12AX7 with a 12AT7 to lift the headroom and stop any breakup as volume is increased. This then mirrors the Fender amps and I get similar to the 65 Reverb, given the cab is not pine. This is a low cost solution rather than paying £650 to £800 for a new combo amp I paid about £120 for the upgrade. Plus I shall keep the same footprint which is important when in the condo.

For live work I have two speaker cabs and the A1 which will be adequate for a wet/dry capability, but I shall consider the Laney IRT-X for a wet/dry/wet sound in the future.

About roberttwiddy

I live, work and play in Bangkok. My play is all about guitars. I enjoy researching guitar and sound equipment and spend more time on this than actually playing. I have 6 x six string guitars, 1 acoustic and 2 Bass guitars. I have 4 amps and 4 pedal boards and two band/looper boards. Bangkok is great for food, I have an on and off gf for the last two and a bit years here. It is also great for live gigs, music venues and shopping malls. A short drive gets you by the river or the sea and historic parks and temples galore. There also lots of pubs full of expats if you want to talk about Western culture. Service is here, as opposed to not in the UK. Thais will fix and do everything you need at a very low price and very quickly. My work is either teaching project management, soft skills or strategy and consulting on projects or soft skills. I am have been in business 30 years and held VP posts in computer hardware and software development. I have ACCA, NLP Master Practitioner and MBA. Enjoy my blog it may have more about music and sound equipment than anything as that is my passion at the moment!
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

