Guitar Update


After a lot of testing including the MM JP13.  This is a powerful guitar with the new Illluminator pick ups great fro heavy rock and metal with a boost switch which gives a huge hike in volume.  Great for concerts where you want a hike for solo mode.  The pickups are very bright/sharp, no warmth or depth as I was expecting from DiMarzio’s feedback.  To me to the ear you have a lot of difficult distinguishing between the bridge and neck pickups they are both trebly.  Reminded me of my Parker Fly which was also a heavy guitar with little to no warmth.

In the jazz fusion, jazz, blues line I have tested the Gretsch Chet Atkins Tennesse, Re release Epiphone Sorrento 1962 limited edition and the D’Angelico Ex SS.  All 3 great guitars with the ability to find that jazz tone that is warm and soft.  The Gretsch is probably the best out of the 3 if you do not consider price.  Here it is 85000b/ so quite expensive, but well finished.  The Epiphone which was used by Lenny Kravitz is a great guitar for the price it has mini humbucker’s by Gibson and has a warm tone great for 24000b/ and definitely worth considering, this was no 18 of 1962, I think it is made in Japan.  The D’Angelico Ex SS made in Korea is extremely well finished with great jazz warm tone, but also great for blues when driven.  However, the set up was poor and the action quite high. Not as people say a guitar you can use straight out of the box.  Its 46700b/ I was impressed with the Kent Armstrong pickups which I had not come across before.

As in my previous posts I love the EVH Wolfgang Special from Japan, great warmth which if you add sustain gives a great rock guitar.  However, I have bought a Musicman Axis Super Sports as it is well priced here and very resale able, although I think this is one I shall keep.  The warmth and depth of the tone in this guitar makes it great for rock and jazz fusion.  I have listened to many different artists and amateurs on YouTube with this guitar and they all get this warm tone I like.

I read a lot about humidifiers for cases given the high humidity we have in Bangkok and I bumped into the MD of Karura cases who recommended the two way Humidipak sold by Planetwaves, so I am kitting my case out with a Hygrometer and humidipaks, given the neck is a special gun oil and not treated other than this way making it prone to humidity.  I also researched that Birchwood Casey Tru Oil and wax is the preferred method of maintenance on the neck, using Murphys oil soap as a cleaner.  Have to the treat the neck like a Baretta.

Next up is completing the design of my Waghorn guitar due in June 2014.  I shall be making a matrix of pickups I have tried out as part of a future post.

About roberttwiddy

I live, work and play in Bangkok. My play is all about guitars. I enjoy researching guitar and sound equipment and spend more time on this than actually playing. I have 6 x six string guitars, 1 acoustic and 2 Bass guitars. I have 4 amps and 4 pedal boards and two band/looper boards. Bangkok is great for food, I have an on and off gf for the last two and a bit years here. It is also great for live gigs, music venues and shopping malls. A short drive gets you by the river or the sea and historic parks and temples galore. There also lots of pubs full of expats if you want to talk about Western culture. Service is here, as opposed to not in the UK. Thais will fix and do everything you need at a very low price and very quickly. My work is either teaching project management, soft skills or strategy and consulting on projects or soft skills. I am have been in business 30 years and held VP posts in computer hardware and software development. I have ACCA, NLP Master Practitioner and MBA. Enjoy my blog it may have more about music and sound equipment than anything as that is my passion at the moment!
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

