iPad Air and the apps I use


On 15 Nov I purchased the iPad Air.  I have had an iPhone 4 since they came out so I am familiar with IOS and IOS7.

The main reason I purchased was the apps it runs.  I have 3 screens based on personal productivity, business, video, music and sound apps.

Personal productivity main change is writing on the iPad using a wacom bamboo duo stylus, Notability is a great notebook, I also have paper for drawing and sketching, each allows you to add voice comments and photos.  I also have Bamboo Paper and Loop but they are portrait only so I will leave them until later.  Last but not least I have Livescribe + which works with Livescribe 3 pen which is a bluetooth pen that you write on a notebook, but it also writes into your iPad for you.  Me thinks I have just made this redundant, but I can write and record on the pen and download later.  So if I carry my pen and a notepad I probably will use when I am not allowed to take the iPad with such as some government places.  Say no more!!  The iPad can truly be used to get rid of a notebook and pen though so feel really good about that. Obviously have professional calculator, currency, pocket, clock, maps, thai language translation and translator as I do come up against many other languages.  All the Social nets Facebook, twitter, linked in as well as skype.  I use gmail and mac mail so I have an online and offline email system.

Business productivity – cloud storage access to google drive, dropbox and skydive as well as iCloud giving me 32gb of cloud storage. iWork the Mac office apps, bunch of education on 6sigma, NLP, PM and CM.  Now individual apps for supporting my business – strategy – strapped, BSC, andara, mindmapping – simple minds, project tools – Planning pro, risk register, modellers – iFW for SWOT and PEST, modeller lite, iMolder and iWorkflow for process mapping, org mapping with Workteams, innovation – GB TRIZ, SMART GOALS, then whiteboard and my leads for business use.  So I have apps from strategy to execution including process mapping, goal building and innovative TRIZ methods.

Video and music and sound – YouTube, iTunes, iTunes U, Logic Remote, Tiny Piano, Shazam, TED, Podcasts, Classic FM, Guitar Tuna and Dragon Dictation.  YouTube allows favourites on the iPad which means you can build folders of tutorials or short examples.

In addition, I have bluetooth keyboard, Wacom bamboo duo stylus, lightning cables hdmi, vGA, USB all for instant TV or projector presentations if there are a lot of people.  I also have an EasyAcc 8400ah power bank if there is no power handy.

I have Safari as the browser when I am on line.  All the apps are downloadable from the apps store and come in free and professional versions.

If anybody has further recommendations to these I would love to hear from you.  I hope you find this useful

About roberttwiddy

I live, work and play in Bangkok. My play is all about guitars. I enjoy researching guitar and sound equipment and spend more time on this than actually playing. I have 6 x six string guitars, 1 acoustic and 2 Bass guitars. I have 4 amps and 4 pedal boards and two band/looper boards. Bangkok is great for food, I have an on and off gf for the last two and a bit years here. It is also great for live gigs, music venues and shopping malls. A short drive gets you by the river or the sea and historic parks and temples galore. There also lots of pubs full of expats if you want to talk about Western culture. Service is here, as opposed to not in the UK. Thais will fix and do everything you need at a very low price and very quickly. My work is either teaching project management, soft skills or strategy and consulting on projects or soft skills. I am have been in business 30 years and held VP posts in computer hardware and software development. I have ACCA, NLP Master Practitioner and MBA. Enjoy my blog it may have more about music and sound equipment than anything as that is my passion at the moment!
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

